Department of Political Science

About Department | Сотрудники Студентам Аспирантам

Headed by:
Doctor of History, Professor
Yury Nikiforovich Nikiforov
The Bashkir State University Department of Political Science is the only specialized department within the higher education system in the Republic of Bashkortostan.
 It was established in 1991 on the basis of the teaching staff of the Department of Scientific Communism that had been functioning since 1965.
At present the Department of Political Science employs 10 people, including 3 Doctors of Science, Professors, 7 Candidates of Sciences, and 2 assistants.
 Since 2001 the Department has been training political science specialists, 25 students are admitted each year. At present there are more than 100 students majoring in Political Science at the Faculty. The first students graduated in 2006 with 20 specialists receiving diplomas of political scientists. In 2007 20 specialists graduated from the Faculty, the same situation was in 2008.
Since 1981 the Department has been running full-time and extramural postgraduate courses and training degree-seekers. The Department has prepared more than 70 Candidates of Sciences. Since 1998 there has been a Council for Defence of Candidate Dissertations in Political Science. More than 100 dissertations for the degree of Candidate of Philosophy and Political Science have been appraised and recommended for defence by the Council. In 2008 a D. 212. 013. 13 doctoral council was established in the major of 23-00-01, 23-00-02 Political Science.
The BashSU Department of Political Science is the only independent department in this area in Ufa, it coordinates research, academic and methodological work by scholars and political science teachers of Republican universities; trains highly qualified scholarly and teaching staff. The Department trains students of the Faculty of Philosophy and Sociology, the Institute of Law and the Faculty of History in the major of Political Science.
The staff of the Department of Political Science are actively engaged in providing students with academic and methodological literature. The Department was one of the first in the country to prepare and publish “Political Science. Lecture Course” edited by Professor Yu.N. Nikiforov in 2 voulmes in 1992 (in 1993 a second edition of the book was published). In 1994 Professor Yu.N. Nikiforov published “Introduction to Political Science” (in 1996 and 1998 a second and third edition correspondingly came out). In 1998 Professor Yu.N. Nikiforov published the book “Political Science. Lecture Course”, the learning aid “Political Science. External Student Textbook”. University students are provided with the program of political science course and workshop plans devised by the Department. In 2004 a learning aid for students called “Introduction to Political Science” was published.
The educational process in the major of Political Science is carried out by highly qualified teachers: Yu.N. Nikiforov – Doctor of History, Professor, A.A. Valkov – Doctor of Philosophy, Professor, R.M. Tukhvatullin – Doctor of Sociology, Professor, L.I. Benina – Candidate of Philosophy, Associate Professor, A.Yu. Nikiforov – Candidate of Political Science, Associate Professor, N.A. Yevdokimov – Candidate of Political Science, Associate Professor, L.S. Abdullina – Candidate of Philosophy, Associate Professor, K.V. Fadeyev – Candidate of Political Science, Associate Professor, A.S. Ivanov – Candidate of Political Science, Senior Lecturer.